Microsoft Dynamics 365 Customer Engagement Architecture:

This video talks about the architecture of Dynamics CE application and its different layers. Microsoft Dynamics 365 CE has a N-tier architecture which hasn't changed for a long time.

This N-tier architecture can be extended with the help of UI tools and code means developers can customize the standard CRM functionality by developing workflows, plugins and custom workflow activities.

Knowing the architecture of Dynamics 365 CE is quite important for the developers to extend/customize the application.

The 3 tiers ( or layers) of the Dynamics 365 CE architecture are:

1. Web Tier

2. Application Tier

3. Data Tier

Web Tier:

Web Tier handles the web pages of the applications such as CRM entity forms, views, charts, dashboards and all other UI components. The web tier or web layer is configured on the IIS server which is responsible for the rendering of the web components.

Application Tier:

Application tier manages the business logic of the application such as plugin, processes, security and data elements. The access to the application layer is controlled through the web services, means to access any of these components the user has to be authenticated.

Data Tier:

The data or database layer is responsible for the storing the data and metadata of the Dynamics 365 CE application. The database used is SQL Server and the database will be configured when we install the CE application.

For every entity in the application there will be a corresponding table available in the application.

Looking forward to becoming a high paying Dynamics 365 & PowerApps Consultant?

Attend Dynamics 365 CE Online training: